Philippians Study (Part 17)

I make it my purpose to let my nephews and nieces know that I love them. Even though I don’t get the opportunities to see them, as I would like, I feel it is important to stay in some form of contact with them so they know whom I am. In these next few passages, Paul will mention a few people. I think one of the reasons Paul mentions them specifically, is because he wants the people of Philippi to find joy in their mention. We also learn a few things about these individuals that give us a deep perspective into Paul’s thoughts into a couple of individuals that accompanied him in prison. With that, we will begin.

The Text:

“I hope in the Lord Jesus to send Timothy to you soon, so that I too may be cheered by news of your. For I have no one like him, who will be genuinely concerned for your welfare. For they all seek their own interests, not those of Jesus Christ.”

First Observations:

Paul wants to send Timothy on a reporting mission to Philippi.

Paul has full confidence that he will receive great news.

Paul has a deep love for Timothy and his heart for loving others.

Other people seek their own interests.

Digging Deeper:

Since Paul is prison, he would send other people to see how the churches were doing. Titus, Timothy, Luke, and others would go and spend a period of time within the community, collect an offering, pray over leaders, commission new leaders, and return to Paul and report on how things were going. I find it quite interesting that Timothy and the others were so willing to make these trips. It isn’t like Timothy and the others got paid for their efforts. Timothy was devoted to the work of an overseer and took the responsibility seriously. Paul even says that he has no one like Timothy that cares as much about them as he does. So Timothy was sent to check up on the church Paul had established there.

It is interesting how people generally only care about themselves. I am talking about myself at times. What is important to understand however is selfish ambitions are not God’s ambitions for our lives. If we have godly ambitions, it is impossible for us to seek our desires. We must then place our weight in the desires of Christ and give up our own ambitions because His ways are better and bring joy.

Conclusion:

There really isn’t much to comment on in these three verses. As I have already mentioned, we get a small glimpse into Paul’s personal world. We are beginning to see how he feels about individuals who are in close with him. Maybe after we have established a few individuals, we will be able to draw out some thoughts about Paul’s comments about their lifestyles, their character qualities, and their motives. For now, I will encourage you to continue reading with me through the book of Philippians. It is a great book we all can enjoy. God bless.

2 Responses to “Philippians Study (Part 17)”

  1. Bryer Says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited Public Records Searches!

  2. Wordpress Blog Post On Philippians Study (Part 17) - Wordpress Blogs .NET Says:

    […] Philippians Study (Part 17) January 25th, 2009 — “I make it my purpose to let my nephews and nieces know that I love them. Even though I dont get the opportunities to see them, as I would like, I feel it is important to stay in some form of contact with them so they know whom I am. In these next few passages, […]” 1 Comment […]


Leave a comment