Philippians Study (Part 14)

I stayed home today and spent some time with my family. I don’t get opportunities to do that much, so I thought I would. It was nice sitting around the table with the TV off and soft classical music in the background. With lots of laughs and plenty of food to eat, it was a nice change from the hustle and bustle. I don’t know the next time I will have the opportunity to spend time at home with the family, but I do know that it was worth it. I hope you all get the opportunity as well to put aside the busyness of life and sit at home and enjoy a great dinner around the table. I know for me, it was a lot of fun. As I think about Philippians, I think family is a key ingredient to the picture Paul paints. We are family and family should spend time together in fellowship and worship. For our family tonight, it was a meal. Maybe for you all, it is something else. Whatever it is, I hope you will agree that family is essential in living. With that, we will continue our study.

The Text:

“So that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father. Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.”

First Observations:

There is something about the name of Jesus.

The name of Jesus causes people to get on their knees and confess He is Lord

Jesus is Lord = the Gospel. This is the good news Paul speaks about.

We are called to work out our salvation in humility.

Digging Deeper:

When I think about people in my life-when I say their name, I get a picture of their face in my mind.  As I see their picture, I usually smile, because I think about all the good times we had. For me, one of those names or persons would be my grandfather. He passed away about five years ago. I remember so much of him that when I think about him, I smile. The name of Jesus should do something to us as well. In fact, Paul says that the name of Jesus brings us to our knees and causes us to confess that He is Lord. It is important to understand is that the confession of Jesus as Lord is the Gospel the Bible speaks about.

Some people have considered the Gospel to be what Jesus did. They give a whole speech, as it was to what Christ did and call that the Gospel. The Gospel though actually means an “announcement.” The announcement is that Jesus is Lord. How does that change things? A lot. Caesar is not Lord, though he gave himself that title. Only Jesus can be and is Lord. No one else has that title.

Therefore, Paul calls the people to work out their salvation in fear and trembling. It does not mean that we should sit in the corner and be fearful of God. It means, because His name causes us to kneel and confess Him as Lord, that we should consider that every day in humility. This is one of the biggest struggles we have as believers in Jesus. We forget to be thankful or consider Christ each and every day. Paul calls the people of Philippi to “continue to work out their salvation.” It isn’t a one-time deal. It shouldn’t be that way for us either.

Conclusion:

I think we would be wise to remember Christ in our daily lives. We should work out our salvation in fear and trembling. His name is great. It causes us to kneel and confess the good news that Jesus Christ is Lord. It should cause us to react. This is what Paul calls the Philippians to do and, as I have already stated, something we should be doing in our daily lives as well.

Leave a Reply

