Philippians Study (Part 13)

I am sorry that it has been a couple of days since I have last posted. I haven’t forgotten. The past couple of days have been difficult with school, work and other things that have been bogging me down. Things are looking better now that I have gotten a little ahead of where I need to be. We are working through chapter 2 of Philippians. This is a fun study for me because it gives me the opportunity to ask questions I normally don’t ask and challenge myself in ways I normally don’t challenge myself. I am glad you are all on this road with me. Together, we will go through the book and hopefully learn a lot through it. With that, we will begin.

The Text:

“But made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name.”

First Observations:

God made Himself nothing.

Compared to God’s glory, humanity is nothing.

The Creator became a servant.

He was obedient – even to the point of death.

The Father raised His name above every other name.

Digging Deeper:

I like to play with clay every once in a while. I can fashion it and make animals or abnormal creations. I can only make what my mind allows me to perceive and make. If it is outside of my mind, I am unable to form it or fashion it. Can you imagine what it was like for Jesus, in glory, making yourself nothing and taking on the form of a servant? Can you imagine what it would be like to be in glory one minute and the next you are in the likeness of man – in the flesh? No matter how hard I try, my mind cannot understand that process. I guess it would be like having a pitcher of water then emptying the pitcher of water into something else. I think that is the closest I can get to understand what Jesus did for us.

This whole humbling thing is something we take for granted about Jesus all the time. If Jesus were born in a palace, it wouldn’t have been good enough for Him. It would have been trash compared to glory. He went beyond trash to filth. He was born in a smelly cave in a no name town with no-name people as parents and He did it because He loved us so much.

He was then crucified – the worst type of punishment anyone could have received. The Romans had perfected crucifixion over the past 250 years. It would be a lot less painful to be stoned outside of the city. Jesus was obedient though. He didn’t complain or get upset. He knew that was why God had brought Him to earth. He knew the Father’s intentions.

When Christ was resurrected from the dead, he was exalted. His name was raised about every other name ever. No other name would be worthy to receive what Jesus received. Salvation – for both the Jew and for the Gentile – was made possible through Jesus.

Conclusion:

I think we take for granted the cost Jesus paid for our sins. I think we oftentimes forget what Jesus left behind so that you and I can live with Him and the Father forever. I think we need to get on our knees more often and thank Him for what He has done for us. Maybe I just think a lot though. I hope I don’t. I can only think that I am wrong. When we learn to be more grateful for what Christ has done, He does things through us that are significant and exciting. I think our lives would be a lot better off though if we just learned to be thankful. That’s what I am learning anyway.

Leave a Reply

