Camp-of-the-Woods 2008 (Day 1)

Nestled within the Adirondack Mountains, Camp-of-the-Woods, a Christian family resort and conference center exists. I drove five hours from Lockport, NY to Camp-of-the-Woods to spend a week with my family and friends for the second year in a row. For the past 100 years or so, God has used this place to bring families together under the name of Jesus. I arrived yesterday in the rain. At first, they didn’t have my information so I had to figure that stuff out. I was so tired and just wanted to put my bed together and take a nice long nap. Things finally panned out and I got to sleep. When I woke up, we met up with family, played a few rounds of mini golf, signed up for the zip line and went to dinner. At night, we hung out by the fire overlooking the lake between the Adirondack Mountains. It was sweet.

Today began our official week. Bryan Wilkerson is our speaker this week. He is a pastor from Lexington, MA. His topic is “The Journey” and I guess we are going to talk about how God leads people on journeys. I would like to think it might border the line of missional living but I am not sure how that will shape as of yet. Today’s topic was Abraham being called by God to go to a land God was calling him to. His basic thoughts revolved around heeding God’s call and risking everything to leave what you know. He apparently left NY and went to MA to pastor a church. He was sad to leave and felt for a time that perhaps he had misheard God’s call for he and his family to leave what they knew well. Wilkerson said that sometimes God calls us to do things that are difficult but we must be willing to go and must embrace God’s call for us. I think that is something I have needed to hear for a long while. God is calling me to do a lot of great things but I am not sure if I can fully complete them where I am. I know I will have to leave PA sometime in the future and go somewhere to carry out my calling. I am okay with that.

The final thing today that I found to be interesting was how Abraham built a place of worship to the Lord. When was the last time I built a place of worship and sacrifice to the Lord? I don’t’ think I can even recount that time if ever. For me, building a place of worship and sacrifice will be a liberating opportunity. I am looking forward to building one tomorrow. I figure if it was good enough for Abraham, it should and would be okay for me to follow in like footsteps. Throughout the week, I will be posting from this week’s reflections. At the end of the week, I will do a final reflection on how I think the week ended. Hopefully it will continue to be a challenging experience.

Leave a Reply

