Just so you know, that’s not right

Just so you know, it isn’t right. That is the thought that continues to run through my mind every time I replay the events that have taken place this past week. The event was simple enough. Within the safety and comfort of an individual’s house, a family figure made a statement concerning a girl who I personally know. This individual was not very happy about this girl coming over to the house to enjoy an evening of fellowship with a group of people who were most likely going to end up watching a movie or something. This person’s statement was something to the effect of: “Why does she have to come here?” Needless to say, I was a little upset about the comment. This individual knows nothing about this girl and her love for the Lord. In short, she really knows nothing about the girl at all. Within ten minutes of this statement, the girl walks through the door and this individual “changes her attitude” and acts as if the statement that she had just said went unheard by the rest of us sitting there at the table and puts on a fake smile and mask to entertain this girl. Not only did it appear as though this individual changed their tune, she acted as if she was actually happy for this girl to be there, introducing herself as if they were going to be best friends or something. Just so you know, that isn’t right.

Before we examine the issue at hand, I have to say that I know understand what it is like from the receiving end of a hypocrite. There have been plenty of times in my life when I have been on the giving side of it but now have seen the receiving end of hypocrisy and I have to tell you that it makes me sick to my stomach and above all, ridiculously angry. So, before I attempt to take a spec out of another’s eye, I will take the log out of mine. I am not perfect. I have been a hypocrite more times in my life than I would like to admit. Seeing these events come to fruition has given me an “insider’s look” at sin in a way in which I cannot fully describe. What I will say on that matter is that I now have another thing I need to work on in my life. So, in light of that, this post will center more on me than the actual event written above. I use that event to show how it has provoked me and challenged me to change my words and my thoughts. It has given me a new perspective on what it is like for others to see my ugliness and sin displayed in a bright light that cannot be hidden or concealed by the darkness. It has also shown me that words are powerful and have an effect on my walk with God and with others (family, friends, etc…).

When I heard those words come from this individual’s mouth; when I saw this individual pretend to actually want this girl in their house; when I saw how their mannerisms changed almost immediately, I realized how God must feel (at least in some small way), when I do the same thing to others. I never realized how powerful my words are. I guess it isn’t something one likes to think about.

Words give encouragement, reproof, regret, lies, hate, love, support, advice, and many other things. They can also be given in certain ways to convey a thought or a meaning. If we say things in a certain way, others can sense how we feel with regards to our emotion, urgency, and conviction. In short, words are extremely powerful in nature. I am not going to attempt to take the time and do an exhaustive study on how words are used in the Bible or mention every time the word “word” or its variants are used. I will say this though. God’s word made the heavens and the earth. It was God’s Word that came to earth in the form of a man to save the people from destruction and separation from God for eternity. It is God’s word that gives us hope for a future and it is God’s word that we read and trust in to guide us through this journey of life and faith. Words are a big deal.

So – I am going to work on my words. I am going to watch what I say and try, to the best of my ability, to use my words in a manner that are honoring to God and to others for the sake of the love of Christ. If we use our words to tear people down, discourage them or even play the card of a hypocrite, that isn’t right. This is my challenge and I hope that you will join me in this effort in doing the same. What I experienced the other night was out of line and wrong. I hope that you will agree. And if you haven’t figured it out yet, I will say it again: Just so you know, that isn’t right.

2 Responses to “Just so you know, that’s not right”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Tim,
    your discussion on “word” was powerful

    You quote, “It was God’s Word that came to earth in the form of a man to save the people from destruction and separation from God for eternity.”

    I don’t know what was said, to whom or by whom, but what is amazing is the contrast between our human “words” and God’s “Word” which really testifies to an act taken by God freely on humanity’s behalf.

    I wonder if, in being formed in Christ’s image, if our “words” will be transfored to more testify to God’s “Word” of redemption, transformation, and love.

  2. timiekley Says:

    Hey Kevin –

    I basically mentioned what sort of happened in the first paragraph. The long and short was what someone said 10 minutes before an individual showed up was completely altered when this girl showed up. Two-faced individuals is what this is really about. I am basically saying that our actions and words need to be in line with our love and relationship with Christ. Or at least something to that manner.


Leave a Reply

