Shout-Out: Brittany McComb

I want to send a shout out to a young girl I have come to know through her Valedictorian speech, which was posted on YouTube. Being a Valedictorian is no easy task – I should know. I was not a Valedictorian in my class. Though I had done very well with respects to my grades, I had not achieved that goal. This girl had achieved this goal and was given a span of several minutes to give a speech to her graduating class.

What happens though is something I thought I would never see (though in some respects, I should not have been surprised). As she was giving her speech, as you will see in the video, she began to share what kind of impact knowing God has had on her life. As soon as she says, “God sent His Son…” the microphone is cut off and we are unable to hear the rest of her speech. The crowd becomes upset when a teacher or staff person tries to pass on to another qualified, achieving Valedictorian.

I know that people will continually attempt to shut us up when it comes to speaking the name of Jesus wherever we go. I know that people will hate our words and even hate us because we have reasoned within ourselves that Jesus is the only way, the only truth, and the only life for us to follow. I know that I should not be surprised that this young girl was shut off from sharing her expressed joy and hope for her graduating class, namely Jesus Christ and His death and resurrection from the dead. I know all this. But still, it bothers me. And, if you are a believer in Jesus Christ, it should bother you too.


In closing, I would just like to say once again that I am thankful that this girl decided that she would stand for the truth. She stood for Jesus. No matter how she would be received by the crowd or the “highly educated,” she decided to speak some thought provoking words that will still continue to produce growth and fruit in others. The more I watch this video; my anger turns to love and happiness. I know 8,855 people + have watched this video. I know several hundred heard it and experienced it. It gives me hope that there are people who are walking with Christ because this girl – Brittany McComb – decided to live for Christ. For that, she deserves a shout out. Thanks Brittany for not stepping down and for speaking boldly about your faith in Christ. It is my hope and prayer that we could and would do the same, God help us.

Posted in Videos. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Shout-Out: Brittany McComb”

  1. Brit Says:

    Thanks Scot! I wasn’t even aware that many people have watched the youtube video. God bless you as you continue to seek after him.

  2. timiekley Says:

    Hey Brit – My name is Tim… Not Scot… Thanks though.

  3. Brit Says:

    Haha, Sorry about that. I was looking at the top of the site and for some reason it said Scot. Thanks Tim. Not Scot. : )

  4. Surprise Says:

    “I know that people will continually attempt to shut us up when it comes to speaking the name of Jesus wherever we go.”

    Ecclesiastes 3:1 “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven”. And, that my friend, includes witnessing for Christ.

    Not too long ago, a pilot on an American airplane asked his passengers over the intercom if they were Chrisitians; he then said that if they weren’t, they were crazy. At that point he encouraged Christian passengers to witness to their non-Chritian neighbors. Some of the passengers grew alarmed: a pilot encouraging a planeload full of passengers to pray? Was there something wrong with the plane?

    This particular gentleman ignored Ecclesiastes 3:1

    Concerning Brittany McComb, personally, I feel that our 1st amendment rights gives valevictorians the right to say whatever they want, unless their speech incites a violation of the law that is both imminent and likely. They’re not public officials, and therefore shouldn’t fall under the “establishment of religion” restrictions. Students should be permitted to witness for Christ, Allah, or the Great Spaghetti Monster during their graduation speeches.

    However, saying that students should be granted the freedom to evangelize during a graduation ceremony at a public high school, does not mean that they should do so. To evangelize under such conditions is tone deaf; it shows a lack of grace. Families and friends gather at public graduation ceremonies to honor the educational accomplishments of their children, not to be told that their faith or lack of faith is wrong.

    As an agnostic, I would not have turned to “walking with Christ” because of her actions; I would have seethed with resentment that a young woman as bright as Brittany felt justified in changing a public high school ceremony honoring the educational achievements of her fellow classmates into a Christian pep rally.

    In short, Brittany should have paid heed to Ecclesiastes 3:1. There’s a time and place for everything; Christians exercising their right to evalngelize “wherever” they go, irrespective of the inappropriateness of the timing or setting deserve our censure, not our praise.


Leave a Reply

