A 15 Day Fast (The Halfway Mark)

It has been almost a week since I have been on my “15 day fast” from driving.  Over this past week, I have gotten the chance to see the generosity of friends and family to help me get around while I am unable to drive.  I can honestly say that God is breaking down some areas in my life that I have needed to break down in a long while.  Areas like pride and insecurity, selfishness and independence.  These areas of my life I normally would hang on to for dear life.  They are mine.  I hate asking for help if I can do it on my own.  During these past seven days, I have had to give up these areas of my life and submit to the dependency of others to go to work, go to school, attend church/bible study, and volunteer with my church family this past Monday night for our homeless outreach.

It is not to say that things have gone as smooth as I would have liked.  For instance, this past Friday, I was unable to get a hold of anyone at my house or other family members.  Those who I worked with were unable to give me a ride because it would be out of the way for them to drop me off.  As I considered my choices, I went outside and saw it was a beautiful day outside.  I thought to myself, “Maybe I could walk home.”  That’s exactly what I did.  The part I enjoyed about walking home was receiving a nice amount of exercise and listening to all the noises of nature around me.  What I had not realized was that the distance from my work to my house was 7.5 miles!  Needless to say, the trip was not a “walk in the park” (no pun intended).  Every once in a while, my legs would get all “noodle-like” and wiggle a bit.  I would then take a rest, regain my strength, and begin to walk again.

As I walked, cars flew by, talking on cell phones.  I only saw one woman look at me while she was driving.  She quick looked then looked the other way as if she was trying to pretend that she had not seen me.  In some respects, I felt like the guy who had been beaten up and left on the side of the road in need of help and the Levites and the Priests passed by.  It was an experience that was both strange and thought provoking.

I have to thank those who have helped me out throughout this past week.  I greatly appreciate your help.  I honestly can say that I could not have done this without you.  I am realizing more and more just how important it is to not try and do everything on your own.  We need friends and family to come alongside of us and help us when we need it.  So, I will continue to learn.  Until my “15 days” fast is over, I will continue to humbly ask for rides when I need them and continue to learn more about why this fast is something I really need to go through.  Thanks again friends God bless.

P.S. – The date I am supposed to finish my “fast” is February 1st (a Friday).  I am hoping Harrisburg agrees and I am able to receive my license by the 2nd or the 4th.  I know it is possible

Leave a Reply

