Doing Church: If He Didn’t Come…

This Sunday’s serve was difficult to sit through. Sometimes I feel uncomfortable in church because whatever is about to come forth through the Word of God is difficult for me to hear. That is not a bad thing though.

Today, Todd spoke on a few passages regarding what Christ came to do. Christ even said Himself; “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to release the oppressed, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor” (Luke 4:16-19).

Every time I used to go to church, I was told Jesus was coming in order to do a bunch of other things. Jesus was not really coming to preach to the poor. The poor were people we saw on the streets and never bothered to be concerned with. Jesus would never come to free prisoners or really help the blind see. The blind are those who do not know the Gospel of Jesus. The prisoners are those who were held to their sin and needed to be free from their lifestyle. The oppressed were those who needed forgiveness in Jesus, not the world. It seems my perception of Jesus growing up is much different than the literal picture of Jesus we see here in this passage.

Jesus did come though so that those who needed to be freed from prison. He did give sight to the blind and He did release the oppressed. I hope this holiday season; we do not forget all that Jesus means to us. If Jesus didn’t come, we would be missing out on so much. That is what I took away from this service. I hope it is something for all of us to take away this holiday season. God truly is good.

Leave a Reply

