Do You Know How Much I Need Jesus?

There are questions I am asked that I cannot answer.  Unfortunately, that happens a lot.  I have to sit back, reflect, or study to receive some form of justifiable answer in order to respond appropriately.  There is a question I was asked during this past Sunday’s sermon by a friend that has struck me in such a way, I still do not know if I am able to answer for myself.  It is a simple question.

“Tim, do you know how much I need Jesus?”

When I was asked this question, I was absolutely floored.  I was not prepared for it at all.  And, even though to some degree I understand why he was asking it, it still took me off guard.  I was almost embarrassed by his question.  I felt uncomfortable.  I felt like a schoolboy trying to explain evolution to Richard Dawkins or something.  Yet, I felt as though I had to respond in some fashion to my friend’s question.  He just looked at me.  I kind of swallowed hard and said with all the honesty I could muster at that time and said, “No, I don’t.”  His response almost ended my ability to think about anything else that day.  He said, “Neither do I… That’s how much I need Him.”  With that, my friend got up and left to stand at the back of the room.  I had once again no response.  I just sat there, unable to listen to the rest of the message with honest ears.  My mind continually went back to those words.

I think we all in some way or another believe we need God.  Though we would never say it out loud, we ultimately live in direct contrast to that in our daily lives.  I mean, honestly.  I can go to work without God.  I can eat a meal without God.  I can change my clothes and take a shower without God.  I don’t really need God in every aspect of my life.  I don’t have to include Him when my desire is to take a walk or ride my bike – or should I?  I guess in some ways, we live a very different lifestyle than I think we are called to live.  It seems as though we have a spiritual atheism issue that we need to address.

Why is it that we only call on God when we are in need?  Why do we only call on a plumber when our pipes leak?  Should we not have the plumber examine the plumbing of our houses in order that the pipes won’t leak?  Should we not allow God to have a place in our hearts, even when it seems we really don’t nee Him?

In fact, I think we do need God even when it seems things are going really well.  I could be having the best day of my life and yet still have a thirst and a need for God to be active and present in my life.  It is a safe and important way to live.  When we allow God into our lives even when things are going well, we are able to build a relationship that goes far beyond our personal needs and complaints.  We are able to say thanks for all He has done and is doing in our lives.  Just like the plumber who comes to inspect the pipes when all seems to be going well.  It also causes us to remember how good God is.

There is this Scripture in the Bible that says, “As the deer pants for water, so my soul longs after God.”  To me, that is one of the most amazing statements in the Bible. It is also convicting.  I wish when I sing that song that I am being honest and real with God.  I cannot always say that though.

I also think about that woman who had an issue of blood for several years.  The Doctors could not help her and she was down to one last option – Jesus.  She pushed through the crowds and said, “If I could only touch the hem of his robe, I will be well.  The desperation and follow through of this woman is so evident, Jesus even stopped and talked with her.  When was the last time we had that same kind of passion and drive for Jesus?  When was the last time we wanted Jesus as a man in a desert wants a cold glass of water?  I am not sure.

Let us never forget though that God is gracious and gives us hope that we can strive after this end.  It is what makes God, God.  So I now ask the question to you:  “Friends, Do you know how much I need God?  Neither do I.  That is how much I need Him.  I am working on it though.”  God bless

Leave a Reply

