Doing Church: The Face of Moses

Today’s service was extremely challenging.  I was challenged by the Word and by the words of a friend.  Combined together, the conviction of the Sunday’s service was ridiculously stronger than other Sundays.  I will write solely about the service today and write about what a friend shared with me during the service tomorrow.  I want to take some more time to consider what my friend shared with me.  With that, I will continue my reflections on the sermon today.

Gary taught today.  This is the second to last Sunday we are going to look at Exodus.  We looked at Exodus where Moses would go up and talk to God and all.  When he would come down from the mountain, his face would shine bright.  They would have to veil his face so that the people did not fear the leadership of Moses.  That must have been an intense vision.  I don’t even know what I would do if I saw the face of a spiritual leader of mine “shine” bright.

We really do not know what exactly Moses’ face looked like but what we do know is that he met with God.  Being in the presence of God manifested an amazing shine that freaked out the Israelites.  I wonder what it would be like to talk with God like that.  Another place in the Bible, it says that Moses talked to God face to face as a friend would talk to a friend.  How amazing is that?  Do we even desire to know God like that?  Do we even desire to have a conversation with God where He talks to us face to face?  We should.  In fact, we should want even more than that.  For that though, we will wait until the next post.

Suffice it to say, I have been challenged with questions I cannot answer (at least yet).  I have a lot of growing to do.  I guess we all do.  For me though, I have seen my need to grow even more as the Word of God continually challenges me.  It is a good thing for sure.

Leave a Reply

