Fasting: It Really is Important…

I am not a fan of fasting.  I really enjoy eating food.  I think that is my problem.  Today, I ate so much food.  I had two helpings of turkey (and fell asleep watching football), stuffing, sweet corn, and mashed potatoes with gravy, string beans and cranberry sauce.  Afterwards, we had pumpkin pie with whipped cream on top.  With a tall glass of iced milk and a cup of coffee, I knew that I had reached the pinnacle of the holiday season.

Isn’t it amazing how much we take the stuff we have in our fridges for granted?  The majority of us have so much that we allow sitting in our fridges for a long while.  I guess for me, that is another problem I have.  Maybe if I didn’t take the food I have for granted, I would learn to appreciate what I have more.

With that in mind, I have decided to fast.  I usually would not share something like this with others but I felt s though we all could use some time and fast.  After turkey day, I wouldn’t be surprised of we could use a fast.  So that is what I am going to do.  I am not doing it to impress anyone.  In fact, I am not doing this for anyone but for God.  For me, this is going to take a lot of self-control.  I do not have a lot of that.  Maybe that is another problem I have.

I have a lot of problems.  I guess I should do something about it.  So, as I have already said, I am doing to do something about it.  I am going to fast.  I will be drinking only water and “Naked” drinks (no more than 3 Naked drinks).  How long might I be doing this?  Believe it or not, I am going to attempt to fast for seven days.  That might seem like a long time (and it is) but it is something I need to do.  I need to appreciate what I have in my fridge more.  I need to not depend on always having whatever I want all the time.  I need to learn self-control more.  This is the most active and real way I know how to do it.  Please keep me in prayer as I strive to finish strong.

There are a few other things I am hoping God will answer through this time as well.  I want to understand God more in His Word.  I want to hear from God.  I want to hear God’s voice whisper.  I hope I will hear Him.  I hope I do not miss the burning bush set ablaze before me.  God help me see You.  Thanks folks.  I will let you know how things go.  God bless

Leave a Reply

