Doing Church: Long Island, NY Baptism

This Sunday I was not at The Well.  Instead of being a part of my church family, I went to Long Island, NY to see my nephew, Jeremy profess his faith in Jesus through the sacrament of baptism.  It might not sound like a big deal to some of my readers but it is one of the most important decisions he will ever make in his life.  I am proud of him.

Some of us were baptized as babies.  I know this is a controversial but it is my opinion that the Bible speaks of believers being baptized when they have made a personal decision to walk with the Lord.  When babies get baptized, it is more about the parents than it is the child.  The baby has made no decision concerning his faith.  There are reasons why people baptize their children.  Reasons we are not going to argue about in this post.  That is not the purpose of it at all.

I do not know exactly when my nephew made a decision to follow Christ.  I do know that he has a pair of loving parents who do their best to walk in the ways of the Lord.  They also go to a great church where the Word of God is taught.  I have no doubt that he has learned about Jesus through the lives of so many people.  As I have said, I am proud of him.  It was not until I was 25 years old that I made a decision to be baptized.  I struggled with being baptized because I had already been sprinkled as an infant.  As I continued to do my study on baptism though, I realized the importance and obedience that comes from being baptized.

So it is that our family went to NY to see my nephew get dunked.  After the service, we went to one of my brother’s friend’s house to enjoy a reception.  The Ham was absolutely amazing.  Whoever cooked the ham did a great job (and I know food).  I also got a chance to talk with my nephew about what he had done.  He mentioned to me he was so thankful so many people cared about him and desired to invest in my (though he didn’t say the word “invest”).  I am glad too.  As I walked around and met many different people from the church, I felt as though there was a purpose that Jeremy had these adults and kids in his life.  They would forever shape his mind through the Word of God and through their friendships.  There is a community of people who look out for one another and bless each other to the best of their abilities.

We then left NY to drive back to PA.  On the way home, I thought about what had happened.  I don’t know if Jeremy can really understand fully how his life has been shaped through his decision to be baptized.  I do know that as he continues to grow in his relationship to the Lord, he will remember this decision he made and know that he made a great decision.  God is so good.  Thanks all I have to say for now.  God bless

Leave a Reply

