The Lord and His Prayer: Personal Reflections (5)

Continuing through the Prayer the Lord taught his disciples, Jesus states, “and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.”  Jesus understood temptation.  He was in the desert for 40 days.  If anyone knows about temptation it is He.  I am glad He understands temptation.  I am also glad He understands it yet was able to resist it.  It would be ridiculous to have someone who claimed to be God in the flesh fall to temptation.  I am not sure we as Christians consider that to be very important.  But it is important.  If Jesus had fallen to temptation, we would not have to be held accountable to it.  He did not though.  Hence, we are held to the strictest of accountability.  Though it is not a fun subject to discuss, it is nonetheless important.  There is oftentimes where I find myself in the center of temptation.  This is usually because I have opened myself to it.  God has given us a way out though.  I am glad for that.  Through the Holy Spirit, we can be sure in that.  Maybe there is nothing new in this but it is something that I have considered recently and something I have found deeply moving and significant in my walk with Christ.

Leave a Reply

