The Lord and His Prayer: Personal Reflections (4)

“Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.” I found it interesting that the first time the word forgive is used in the Bible, is Genesis 50. It almost angered me that it had not been used in the previous chapters. For whatever reason, the Holy Spirit did not find it fit to mention the word “forgive” in Scripture until that point. The story is based on the story of Joseph and his brothers who sold Joseph into slavery. They asked Joseph to forgive them. Joseph wept and took care of his brothers. He said, “What they had intended for evil, God intended for good.” I can understand that statement. My birth mother was raped by someone she knew when she only 15. I was the result of that rape. I can look at that situation in my life and only look at the evil and sickness of the even that took place and wonder what significance of my life really is or I could search my life and ask God to show me the good that has come from it. I did not pick the way I entered into this world. There is good that has come from this situation though. Namely, I am alive and well. God has given me a family that loves me and cares about me. Finally, God has called me to share my testimony with others. When I was 14, I made an active decision to forgive this man that had raped my birthmother. Don’t get me wrong; it is still hard. But I am forgetting the past and pressing on towards the goal – Jesus Christ. That is what matters most for me.

Leave a Reply

