The Lord and His Prayer: Personal Reflections (2)

I figured I would continue with the second part of this text (Matthew six) in hope of working my way through the text part by part.  Meditating on these thoughts has given me a greater appreciation for who God is in my life and who He has called us to be as His children.  The next part speaks of God’s Kingdom and God’s will both on earth and in heaven.

I remember being a young boy and not getting what I wanted.  I remember creating a ruckus in the mall because I could not get the toy I wanted that day.  When I got home, I would run to the cookie jar and try to sneak a cookie in before dinner.  My dad would come in and say, “Son.  I do not want you to eat that cookie before dinner.  Please obey me.” Slowly I would put the cookie back in the jar and go on to something else.

I never realized that part of my life would be played out in part, through such an intimate prayer spoken by Jesus, Himself.  Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth, as it is in heaven.”  The only real problem I have with that part of the prayer is that I am not in it.  I mean seriously.  Where is what I want in the equation?  Does it exist at all?  Perhaps God forgot that part when He spoke to His disciples about it.  In all reality, I have come to realize that what God wants matters most.  He could honestly care less what I want (selfishly).  He knows what is best for me and what I need (even before I ask Him for it).  Like my earthly Father, God knows how many treats I should have.  Not that it makes it easier mind you.  It is what it is though.

God’s plan is so much greater than you or I.  That is why we should desire His Kingdom to come and His will to be done.  If it were left up to you and I, we would screw up the whole thing.  No.  God in His perfection has a plan and a purpose for each and everyone one of us.  It is up to us to desire to accept the things of God and to push back the things in which we selfish desire for ourselves.  And, when we decide to go at it God’s way, He blesses us.  And, we begin to realize what we thought we really wanted was not really anything worth going after.  It is not easy to take us out of the equation but it is what God wants for us because He knows what is best for us.  Now if we could just learn to do it each and everyday.  Perhaps our lives would change and we would be better off.

Leave a Reply

