Doing Church: God Provides

Today Todd taught at The Well. We are continuing our study through the book of Exodus. The main thought I had while listening to Todd teach was how much God has provided for me, even when it seems I cannot hear Him or see Him at work in my life. That is the passage we were studying today.

As the Israelites came out of Egypt, God provided food for them. He provided the food they needed for that day. If they tried to gather more food than they needed for the day, it would smell and turn into maggots. It is interesting to me: Jesus says we should not worry about tomorrow. We are called to allow tomorrow taking care of tomorrow. We are not able to predict what tomorrow will bring. I guess that is why the stuff they gathered turned into maggots after a day. They had to trust that God would meet their needs for the day. The Lord’s Prayer is like that too. “Give us this day our daily bread.” That is really powerful. It is almost like an announcement that we continually believe that God will provide for us today whatever it is He knows we need. Food, clothes, money, or whatever; God always provides. I think we could seriously learn a lot from this very small selected passage in Exodus.

The other thing I was challenged with was the importance of taking a Sabbath rest. To be sure, my life is ridiculously busy. I have added to my own strength, making my time either rushed or compact. I have added more to my life than perhaps I should but I am enjoying it all. I need to make sure that I get enough rest though. Sleep is important. I do not get enough of that. I also need to take a “personal day” and just be with the Lord. I hope to make that a reality in my life. We all have 24 hours in a day. The question I need to ask myself is: What am I doing with the time I have been given? God takes the Sabbath seriously.

In other news, this evening, we had a “Community dinner” at Ginger’s house in Doylestown. I was not sure if I was going to go. With all the stuff going on with school and work, I thought perhaps it would be better if I stayed home and got the work done. I decided to allow the messages today speak to me and I went. I am glad I did. After getting a little lost, I found where I was supposed to be, and several people from The Well greeted me. I brought a “famous” salad our family makes all the time. From the looks of an empty bowel at the end of the night, I guess it went over well. The cool thing about this evening was perhaps, for the first time, I felt as though I belonged to this church.

I grew up in a church that was very individualistic in nature. The Gospel was all about “me” and had no image of it being more than that. As I have learned though, the Gospel is so much more than I had both see and had been taught by those I attended church with. The Gospel also includes “the good of others and the world” (Scot McKnight’s book “Embracing Grace – xiii). Today, I felt as though we were living the Gospel in a very real and genuine way. It was totally awesome. I hope I never have to pinch my arm and find out that all of this has been a dream. I want to live the Gospel out loud as the body of Christ. It is really that important.

Leave a Reply

