Embracing Grace

Tonight we continued our theological discussions, using the book, “Embracing Grace” by Scot McKnight.  We are not a large group to say the lest but we meet each Wednesday night.  It is a time for us to get together and share with one another all that God is doing in and through us.  I am a personal fan of the book (I have read it now three times all the way through).

I will say however that I struggled with Scot’s definition of the Gospel.  The main reason I struggled with it is because it dealt with the issue of community in the body of Christ.  A term I had never seen or heard of before I went away to college.  It is also something I have not really seen within the body of Christ so it seemed like that star you attempt to catch but instinctively know will never happen.  The Gospel I was taught in the church at an early age was a selfish Gospel that focused on ‘me” rather than an “us” Gospel, if that makes sense.  Going to The Well, I believe I am beginning to see the Gospel lived out in the manner Scot calls the Church to live the Gospel out.  It is very encouraging.  It is what I have been waiting to see.

The other thought that I struggled with is seeing not only myself but others who are ‘different’ as being made in the image of God.  It is true though.  We are all on the same page when it comes to how we were made.  It should not be so difficult though.  The ministry of Jesus on this earth should have taught us well enough that He saw all people as being made in the image of God.  These were the people He was going to die for on the cross.

So the Gospel is very communal as it is individual.  Perhaps we can change as a body of Christ when we learn to live in this fashion.  It is a difficult calling but again, it is what Jesus calls us to.  Thanks Scot for writing this book.  I cannot say enough how much it has challenged me.  God bless

Leave a Reply

