God Cannot Do Everything?

There are many people out there that might think I have lost my salvation. I am sure I will once again upset someone for saying that there are at lest four things God cannot do. I always grew up believing God could do anything. He is after all God. However, through a rich study of the Word of God, I have found at least four things God cannot do. I submit this post to the general audience.

The first thing I found God couldn’t do is God cannot lie. In fact, if you were to get out a concordance (it is a book where one can look up a word from the Bible and see how many times it is used throughout the Old and New Testament), it says several times that God cannot lie (Numbers 23:19; Titus 1: 2; Hebrews 6:18; James 1: 17-18 (just to name a few)). Thanks to ‘The Way of the Master’ series, we know humans lie and Satan himself is called, “the father of lies (John 8:44). God however cannot lie. That is one thing God cannot do.

God cannot learn. To me, this is one of the most incredible and satisfying characteristics of God I am so thankful for. Since God cannot learn (because He knows everything), I cannot disappoint God. Think about it, if I do something that is not kosher, and my mom and dad found out about it, perhaps they would be disappointed in me. However, God knows we are going to screw up. He knows when we are going to make mistakes. To me, that is good. I am glad I cannot surprise God when I make mistakes. So how can we be assured God cannot learn? Here are a few: Psalm 139: 1-2; Hebrews 4:13.

God cannot remember forgiven sin. That is a true gift God gives us. Isaiah 43: 25 says, “I, even I, am He that blots out your transgressions for My own sake, and will not remember your sins.” It has taken me a while to come to a real understanding of what that means for you and I as followers of Jesus. It is truly a blessing you and I take for granted in some ways. Other verses confirm this announcement from God, Himself (Jeremiah 31:31; Hebrews 8:12; 10:17). It is Satan who reminds us of our past sin and continually brings it up to bring us down and make us feel as though we are no good. In that case, I suggest you remind Satan of his future when he attempts to bring put the past. Seriously, God is totally amazing.

The final thing God cannot act outside of His own nature. Who He is, is who He is. He is unchangeable, holy, just, and manifests love, mercy and truth. For eternity past, eternity present, and eternity future, God will remain as constant and unchanging. Since only humans live within the realms of time, God is not bound to ‘non-eternal’ status. Something that will really blow your mind is that even if God wanted to change, He could not. Since God is the highest and most supreme state of perfection, it is impossible for perfection to take form in any manner outside of its present form. Confusing? It is. It is at this point of understanding; we really cease to understand the fullness of this manner.

As I mentioned already, these are not all the things God cannot do. There are a lot. To some who have grown up believing God can do anything, it is a rude awakening to realize there are things God cannot do. For those who believe in Christ and live according to His standards (to the best of our ability), this truth concerning what God cannot do brings us a safe and secure faith. Take some time and consider other things God cannot do. Happy hunting. God bless

Leave a Reply

