Stewardship

I have so much I have to learn.  I do not say that to add some new revelation to your knowledge.  I am just being honest.  I went to a study tonight with some friends and found myself almost tongue-tied to put words together.  I am sure that has never happened to anyone before.  So tonight, I will be busy untying my tongue as I go over what we studied.

So many times we are told that the grass is greener on the other side.  I want to challenge that thought.  In fact, the reason the grass is greener on the other side is because we have not taken residence on that side.  If we would be stewards of the grass on our own side, perhaps the grass on our side would be greener than the grass on the other side.

Stewardship.  That is a very interesting word.  I do not think we take the implications of stewardship seriously.  There was a guy who did not take stewardship seriously in the Bible.  This dude was given some money along with two other guys.  The other guys doubled what they had.  Maybe they were great businessmen.  Maybe they played the stocks.  Whatever they did, they made some serious money.  But one guy decided to burry his money in the sand.  I wonder what he was really thinking.  Did he think the money would multiply by itself?  I doubt it.  The master comes home to find out the one dude buried the money he was given.  The master was ticked off.

I wonder if the master hit him in the head like the V8 commercials.  Why did he not put the money in the bank?  He could have at least gotten some interest.  I wonder if we need to hit ourselves over the head sometimes.  If we were willing to at least put what we have been given in the bank, we can gain some interest.

We are stewards.  We have been given so much.  We have a responsibility to do something with what we have been given.  To hold it or to burry it in the sand is to take for granted what is not really ours.  We have a lot of work to do.  I have so much to learn.  The master is coming back.

Leave a Reply

