Doing Church: Exodus (Chapter 1 and 2)

The book of Exodus is a great narrative. It is a story about a people who God has called His own and their freedom from the oppression from a great nation. Their leader was a man who was one of them. Adopted by one of the most powerful women in the world, this man grew up realizing that His life was more than just He could truly understand. His name was Moses. Placed in the water by his mother, she would not allow his life to end at birth. Through the amazing fate of God, this Hebrew mother was able to nurse her own son. She watched him grow. When he was old enough to understand who God had made him to be, Moses stood up against those who spared his life and trained him. He held a powerful position within one of the greatest nations in the world. He did not understand how God was going to use him to free a great nation from Pharaoh’s captivity.

As I study through the book of Exodus, many of the stories I read there are so familiar, they no longer read as fresh stories in my mind. I have allowed them to be ‘normal’ stories without wonder and awe. What a shame.

In Exodus 1 and 2, God does not show up until the last three verses. As I said, I already know the story of Exodus. It is too easy to say that God works everything out. The people who were calling out did not know that God would answer their cries. They were in bondage. They were in slavery. For most of Exodus 1 and 2, God does not show up until the last three verses.

Where was God? Was God there while Exodus 1 and 2 occurred? I believe He was. I do not know why God decides to show up only in the last three verses but perhaps that is not a question we are called to ask. Maybe we could or perhaps we should. I do not have the answer to that question. All I know is that God shows up. To me, I have come to a place where I have to believe that God shows up when His perfect timing can best be displayed.

As we continue to study the book of Exodus, we will see God work in some amazing ways. Let us not get ahead of ourselves though.

Leave a Reply

