Doing Church: (Romans 12: 1-2)

This Sunday, Todd looked at Romans 12: 1-2.  We have been going over these verses as a community now for about two months and I personally have been enjoying these times together as a community of faith.

One of the things that have really brought this whole passage together for me is the word “sacrifice.” I can honestly say that before today, I had not really considered what it means to “sacrifice” anything to the Lord.  I mean, let’s be honest for a moment:  We do not sacrifice animals or people today (unless you are super weird – which in that case, you might understand this concept a little more than I).  Truthfully though, sacrifice is very foreign to the majority of us as US citizens who live very comfortable in our air-conditioned houses.

For a sacrifice to be acceptable to God, it had to be an animal with out blemish, spot, or defect.  You could not bring the lame or blind animal from your fold and give it to God (though many of us give God our worship in that manner).  We had to pick a healthy, pure animal.  As I consider that within itself, I cannot help but wonder why it is so hard to remain pure.  I think about Paul when he wrote, “the things I do not want to do, I do and the things that I want to do, I do not do.  Oh wrenched is me!”

I am glad though that God chooses to use you and I.  I do not think that we can put it all together without knowing the truth – God’s creation – blemished, impure, dirty sheep have been chosen by God to do His work.  For anyone to understand the fullness of that, I myself cannot.  And yet, it is a beautiful truth that gives us hope and joy.

I could write more about this but I think I will leave it that this:  We are called to serve Christ in all that we think, say, and do.  In John 17:18, John writes, “Father, as you have sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world.”  The words are for you and me and the disciples who walked with Him for a period of about three years or so.  Let us live in this manner.  For Christ has given us His Spirit to lead and to guide us so that we can humbly walk with Him through this life.  If you would like to hear this sermon or any other sermon from our church, please check out our church website.  Thanks and God bless.

Leave a Reply

