The Way I See It # 230

When I posted my first response to ‘The Way I See It # 247,’ I was not sure how it was going to be received by my virtual audience. Looking at my blog stats, I noticed that it has surpassed almost any other post I have written since this site’s creation almost a month ago. For that reason, I thought I would look at another writing found on the backside of a Starbucks cup and respond to its statement.

Heaven is totally overrated. It seems boring. Clouds, listening to people play the harp. It should be somewhere you can’t wait to go, like a luxury hotel. Maybe blue skies and soft music were enough to keep people in line in the 17th century, but Heaven has to step it up a bit. They’re basically getting by because they only have to be better than Hell. – Joel Stein

Has anyone ever asked you if you believe in heaven? Has anyone ever asked you what you thought heaven will be like? Have you ever responded? And if you did respond, how was your response received? I have been asked several times by those I have met, “What will heaven be like?” In the same manner in which we think we know God, we think we know what heaven will be like. Without even considering our thoughts, we return their question with an answer.

Let me share just a few things I hope you will agree that heaven will not be like in order to wipe away the myth of what it will be like.

1. Heaven is not overrated.
2. It will not be boring.
3. We will not be floating on puffy clouds playing golden harps in diapers.
4. It has no relation to a hotel by any means.
5. It is not a place that is imagined to keep people ‘good.’
6. It takes a lot more than being good in order to be there.

How can any place where God dwells be overrated or boring? How can any place where there is no murder, no rape, no molestation of young children, no hurt, no pain, no more racism, no more lust, and no more sin be overrated? It is the very thing we long to see in our lifetime here on earth. There are poets, authors, and activists who have written about a place where there is no more war, no more hate, no more destruction, and no much poverty. Heaven is a place where all of the above are true.

Heaven will also not be boring. The reason is because there will be no time in heaven. To spend eternity in heaven (which we cannot even fathom because our ability to calculate eternity is impossible) will be an amazing experience. What will we do in heaven? I am not 100 percent sure about everything we will do but the Bible does say that we will worship God. That might sound boring to you as you read this but it will not be like the dead churches you have been to before. This will be the ultimate worship experience that will be greater than all of your thoughts and perceptions of what worship really is. Don’t knock it until you try it.

So the picture of little babies floating around the clouds and playing little golden harps is cute. The little babies dancing and bouncing off the clouds with their angel wings in flight might bring you to shed a tear or two but dry your little eyes because heaven will be nothing like that. That is a man-made perception of heaven that has been overdone by so many people. Let’s take that picture out of our heads and consider a new perspective on heaven – for heaven’s sake.

A hotel is a place where you go and visit. You need a special key to open your door and you need a lot of luggage to enjoy your visit. The little frig opens up some late night snacks and the TV guide is at your disposal. The king-size bed is made with several towels crafted into a design of a dog sits at its foot. The curtains are drawn and the bathroom is clean with those little shampoos and soap bars. Heaven is not a hotel room. You do not pay anything for a key, we will not have to worry about food, or showers, or sleep, and our stay will always be enjoyable. It is also not a place where you go for a week or two. Heaven is forever – amen for that.

I understand how people use scare tactics in order to lure people to heaven’s gate. “As long as I have my fire insurance I will be fine!” How sad. We should never allow ourselves to be tricked or scared to do something. We should be drawn to heaven because of who God is and how much God wants us to enjoy fellowship with Him. If the only reason you want to go to heaven is to save yourself from hell, I wonder if you have missed the point of going.

Finally, it takes a lot more than ‘good deeds’ to go to heaven. It is not based on good merit one enters heaven. It is first and foremost by the grace of God we have the ability to go there. Because of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, we have been given access to join in fellowship with God for eternity. Without that truth, we would not have that ability.

I do not know how amazing heaven will be to its fullest extent but I do know, from what the Bible tells me, that heaven will be a great place. We will be in the presence of God and worship Him for eternity.

The challenge is to see heaven as a place where you want to go because of who God is and what He has done for us. Not because hell does not interest you. We should desire to be in the presence of our Creator because He has paid the price of my sin on the cross and resurrected from the dead. That is why I want to go to heaven; that is why I believe God has made a place for me there. I hope you will agree that being in heaven is going to be the most amazing and mind-blowing experience we could ever have. I hope you will join us. God bless.

One Response to “The Way I See It # 230”

  1. riddle Says:

    and then there’s the idea that heaven comes here and we live within the new earth….


Leave a Reply

